← Directory

BURFORD CAPITAL INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT LLC

CRD 167365File 801-79466
APPROVED
Custody
Filing as of Jul 16, 2026
Feed vintage Oct 1, 2026
Regulatory AUM
$3.17B
Top 25% of cohort (national)
Discretionary AUM
$3.17B
Clients
19
19 accounts
Employees
170
Top 25% of cohort in IL

Identity & registration

ADV Item 1
Organization form
Limited Liability Company
Firm type
Registered
SEC region
CHRO
Registration date
Apr 3, 2014
Principal office
609 W. RANDOLPH STREET, 11TH FLOOR, CHICAGO, IL, 60661
Phone
312-757-6070
Website
Not reported

Assets & accounts

ADV Item 5F
Total regulatory AUM
$3.17B
Discretionary AUM
$3.17B
Non-discretionary AUM
$0
Discretionary accounts
19
Non-discretionary accounts
0
Total accounts
19
AUM per client
$167.0M

Clients by type

ADV Item 5D
Client typeClientsAUM
Pooled investment vehicles19$3.17B

Compensation & activities

ADV Items 5E, 5G

Compensation

  • Performance-based fees
  • A percentage of assets under your management

Advisory activities

  • Portfolio management for pooled investment vehicles

Custody

ADV Item 9
Firm Custody Cash
Yes
Firm Custody Assets
Yes
Firm Custody Clients
Yes
Firm Custody Securities
Yes
Related Person Custody Cash
No
Related Person Custody Assets
No
Related Person Custody Clients
No
Related Person Custody Securities
Yes

Disclosure events

ADV Item 11

This firm answered no to every Item 11 disclosure question in this filing.

Filed changes

DateFieldFromToChange
Apr 1, 2026Employees153170increased by17
Apr 1, 2026AUM$3,435,827,307$3,172,206,405decreased by$263,620,902
May 1, 2025
vs Oct 1, 2022
Employees134153increased by19
May 1, 2025
vs Oct 1, 2022
Clients2119decreased by2
May 1, 2025
vs Oct 1, 2022
AUM$2,834,747,567$3,435,827,307increased by$601,079,740
May 1, 2025
vs Oct 1, 2022
Accounts2119decreased by2
Apr 1, 2022Employees117134increased by17
Apr 1, 2022Clients2021increased by1
Apr 1, 2022AUM$2,656,960,278$2,834,747,567increased by$177,787,289
Apr 1, 2022Accounts2021increased by1
Jun 1, 2021AUM$2,656,634,171$2,656,960,278increased by$326,107
Apr 1, 2021Registration—APPROVED

On Form 5500, an adviser usually appears as a plan service provider (Schedule C), not the plan sponsor.

See plans that list “BURFORD CAPITAL” as a service provider on 5500mcp →

Matched by name only — Form ADV and Form 5500 share no identifier, and names are searched loosely (“BURFORD CAPITAL” may also match similarly-named firms). Confirm identity against each filing.

Every value above is reproduced from this firm's Form ADV filing. Fields the firm left blank are shown as “Not reported” rather than filled in from other sources.