← Directory

SAFFORD NICHOLAS H & CO INC

CRD 104740File 801-19482
APPROVED
Retail clients
Custody
Filing as of Mar 30, 2026
Feed vintage Oct 1, 2026
Regulatory AUM
$1.80B
Top 25% of cohort (national)
Discretionary AUM
$69.5M
Non-discretionary $1.73B
Clients
155
155 accounts
Employees
8
Above cohort median in MA

Identity & registration

ADV Item 1
Organization form
Corporation
Firm type
Registered
SEC region
BRO
Registration date
Aug 2, 1983
Principal office
9 CLEAVES STREET, ROCKPORT, MA, 01966-1520
Phone
978-546-2462
Website
Not reported

Assets & accounts

ADV Item 5F
Total regulatory AUM
$1.80B
Discretionary AUM
$69.5M
Non-discretionary AUM
$1.73B
Discretionary accounts
7
Non-discretionary accounts
148
Total accounts
155
AUM per client
$11.6M

Clients by type

ADV Item 5D
Client typeClientsAUM
OtherFewer than 5Not reported
Charitable organizationsFewer than 5Not reported
Other investment advisersFewer than 5Not reported
High net worth individuals136$1.79B
Individuals (other than high net worth individuals)19$7.4M

Compensation & activities

ADV Items 5E, 5G

Compensation

  • Other
  • Fixed fees
  • Other (described) — PERCENTAGE OF ASSETS UNDER OTHER INVESTMENT ADVISERS' MANAGEMENT
  • A percentage of assets under your management

Advisory activities

  • Other advisory activities
  • Portfolio management for individuals and/or small businesses

Custody

ADV Item 9
Firm Custody Cash
No
Firm Custody Assets
Yes
Firm Custody Clients
Yes
Firm Custody Securities
No
Related Person Custody Cash
No
Related Person Custody Assets
No
Related Person Custody Clients
No
Related Person Custody Securities
No

Disclosure events

ADV Item 11

This firm answered no to every Item 11 disclosure question in this filing.

Filed changes

DateFieldFromToChange
Apr 1, 2026Clients157155decreased by2
Apr 1, 2026AUM$1,871,274,012$1,795,604,516decreased by$75,669,496
Dec 1, 2025
vs May 1, 2025
Employees98decreased by1
May 1, 2025
vs Oct 1, 2022
Employees89increased by1
May 1, 2025
vs Oct 1, 2022
Clients128157increased by29
May 1, 2025
vs Oct 1, 2022
AUM$1,903,775,184$1,871,274,012decreased by$32,501,172
May 1, 2025
vs Oct 1, 2022
Accounts158155decreased by3
Apr 1, 2022Employees78increased by1
Apr 1, 2022Clients159128decreased by31
Apr 1, 2022AUM$1,611,723,797$1,903,775,184increased by$292,051,387
Apr 1, 2022Accounts154158increased by4
Apr 1, 2021Registration—APPROVED

On Form 5500, an adviser usually appears as a plan service provider (Schedule C), not the plan sponsor.

See plans that list “SAFFORD NICHOLAS” as a service provider on 5500mcp →

Matched by name only — Form ADV and Form 5500 share no identifier, and names are searched loosely (“SAFFORD NICHOLAS” may also match similarly-named firms). Confirm identity against each filing.

Every value above is reproduced from this firm's Form ADV filing. Fields the firm left blank are shown as “Not reported” rather than filled in from other sources.